Dubai’s Government System Homework #12

10 Jan

Whenever I study abroad, the government system in each country is always something I view as extremely interesting. I realize how much I take for granted in the United States. One of the main reasons why I could never live in Dubai is because of the Government system. Although right now I think the Sheikh is doing a great job running the country and handling conflicts, I don’t like the idea of having no say in my government and country. One day a sheikh who has no idea what they are doing my gain power and completely ruin the country, would I have any say? I like the idea in the United States I have the freedom of speech, and other liberties. In the United Arab Emirates, a lot of these liberties aren’t there. I also don’t like the idea of a national religion. If I’m not muslim or if I don’t agree with one of the rules of the koran, I have little to no say. I think one of the greatest conflicts Dubai and the rest of the emirates will face is with the government system and national religion. Less than 20% of the people in Dubai are the local Emiratis, while the majority come from all over the world. Are a large majority of them muslim? What sickens me even more is when you see a 4 floor super yacht worth over 20 million dollars being created for a ruler of a country, while people within that country are starving. What makes the sheikh a better human than anyone else?

2 Responses to “Dubai’s Government System Homework #12”

  1. nishigohel January 18, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    This post is really interesting. I agree with almost everything you say. Especially the part about how one day the UAE will get a Sheikh that doesn’t know what he’s talking about or what’s going on in the world. Although it is a good thing that the people have no say in their government if the people also don’t know what’s going on in the world, but still I’m pretty sure everyone knows a little bit. It also bugs me how the Sheikh spends so much money on their third yacht when there are tons of people in the country who are starving. I really think they should do something about that and help the lower class people out more.

  2. Kimberly Houston January 23, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    I have a question for you Reid. If you were Emirati, would you still have the same view of the Government? The Government would pay for your housing, your furniture, your children’s schooling, etc. I know for me personally, I wouldn’t mind. If the Government was providing funds for all those things, I don’t think I would care about not having a say in the politics. This rationalization is only for living in Dubai- not other places in the world!

    I must admit though, I would not enjoy having specific “youtube” videos blocked on the internet nor would I enjoy the Government trying to cover up negative news that has happened in recent time.

Leave a Reply

